The vineyard is a unique site at the gates of the the Gorges de l’Ardèche Nature Reserve ;
an unspoiled land of natural beauty …

The vineyards of the vineyard

Vignoble Walbaum

Our vineyards are cultivated in full respect of the environment and biodiversity: traditional tilling, organic treatments, ridging the vines with draft horses…

Parcels are bordered by woods and bocages, veritable havens for wildlife and the countless birds who are natural predators that control vine pests.

Beehives have been set up at the edge of the woods; the bees pollinate species and enhance the establishment of wild plants, creating unique biodiversity.

Protecting our environment means above all knowing how to observe, listen to and work with nature, in harmony. In our ongoing efforts to improve and sustain our approach, we have begun conversion to organic farming of the vineyards in 2021.

Vignoble Walbaum
Vignoble Walbaum

Our terroir comprises slopes with pebbly soils and chalky clayey soils that stretch for two kilometres along the Ardèche river. We cultivate the grape varieties that make the great wines of our regional tradition: Syrah, Cinsault, Grenache, Carignan, Merlot and Viognier for the white wines.

Our vineyards lie in the IGP Ardèche (Protected Geographical Indication) zone. Certain grapevines, planted by previous generations over 50 years ago, grow grapes that are few in number but outstanding in quality, producing complex wines with great finesse.

Wine-making

Vignoble Walbaum

The grapes are harvested when they have reached optimum maturity, and they go directly into the estate cellar.

For our red wines, we do long macerations at controlled temperature to extract the tannins, the colour, the delicate aromas. The wines then spend a year in concrete vats; some undergo a further twelve months in oak barrels.

Our rosé wine first undergoes direct pressing, or ‘saignée’, overnight. The delicate juices then go into thermo-regulated stainless-steel tanks to preserve the quality. Rosé wines are among the most delicate and challenging to make. The secret of beautiful colour, delicate aromas and elegance lies in the subtle balance we must achieve.

Vignoble Walbaum
Vignoble Walbaum

Our white wine is made in the highly traditional manner. The grapes are harvested very early in the morning to retain all their freshness, then brought to the press. After short maceration in contact with the skins, the juice goes into oak barrels for slow fermentation on the lees. This technique endows the wine with velvety texture and gorgeous aromas that evoke honey and almond paste.

Throughout the vinification period we taste and analyse the wine to closely monitor its evolution. Our red wines are not filtered, and only rarely are they fined, so as to preserve – and give you – all the aromatic complexity we have worked so hard to achieve.

Our wines

From ripening on the vine to final harvest, from the vineyards to the cellar, from the decanter to your tasting glass, the world of wine is a universe unto itself.

 

Our wine tasting and sales cellar is open
du lundi au samedi de 9h30 à 12h30 et de 14h30 à 18h.

Hommage

Red wine

Viognier

White wine

Fleur de vigne

Rosé

Cuve 5

Red semi-sweet

Syrah-Merlot

Red wine

EN

Le vignoble est un site unique aux portes de la Réserve Naturelle des Gorges de l’Ardèche ;
un terroir d’exception….

Les vignes du vignoble

Vignoble Walbaum

Nos vignes sont cultivées dans le respect de l’environnement et de la biodiversité : labours traditionnels, traitements biologiques…

Les parcelles de vignes sont entourées de bois et bocages préservés ; de véritables refuges pour la faune sauvage et notamment les oiseaux qui sont les prédateurs des nuisibles de la vigne.

À la lisière du bois, nous avons installé des ruches ; le travail des abeilles permet la pollinisation et l’implantation de diverses espèces végétales sauvages, créant une biodiversité unique.

Protéger notre environnement c’est avant tout savoir l’observer, l’écouter et travailler en harmonie avec lui. Dans le but de pérenniser notre démarche, nous entamons la conversion du vignoble à l’Agriculture Biologique dès 2021.

Vignoble Walbaum
Vignoble Walbaum

Notre terroir est constitué de coteaux de galets roulés et de terres basses argilo-calcaires, bordant la rivière Ardèche sur deux kilomètres. Nous cultivons les cépages typiques de la tradition régionale : la Syrah, le Cinsault, le Grenache, le Carignan, le Merlot ainsi que le Viognier pour les blancs.

Le vignoble est situé sur la zone d’Indication Géographique Protégée (IGP) Ardèche. Certaines de nos vignes, plantées par les générations antérieures, ont aujourd’hui plus de 50 ans, produisant peu de raisins mais d’une excellente qualité, elles donnent des vins complexes et d’une grande finesse.

La vinification

Vignoble Walbaum

Nos vignes sont vendangées à date optimum de maturité du raisin, puis vinifiées dans la cave du Domaine.

Pour les rouges, nous procĂ©dons Ă  des macĂ©rations longues Ă  tempĂ©ratures contrĂ´lĂ©es, afin d’extraire tanins, couleur et arĂ´mes en toute dĂ©licatesse. Les vins sont ensuite Ă©levĂ©s un an dans des cuves en bĂ©ton puis, pour certains, douze mois supplĂ©mentaires en fĂ»ts de chĂŞne.

L’Ă©laboration du vin rosĂ© se fait en cuve inox thermo rĂ©gulĂ©e, nous permettant de conserver la qualitĂ© des jus, Ă©laborĂ©s par pressurage direct ou par « saignĂ©e » d’une nuit. Le rosĂ© est probablement le vin le plus dĂ©licat et le plus difficile Ă  rĂ©ussir. Le secret de sa couleur, de ses arĂ´mes et de son Ă©lĂ©gance rĂ©side dans un subtil Ă©quilibre.

Vignoble Walbaum
Vignoble Walbaum

Notre vin blanc est élaboré dans la plus pure tradition, les raisins sont vendangés au petit matin afin de conserver toute leur fraîcheur, puis sont amenés au pressoir. Après une courte macération pelliculaire, le jus est mis en fûts de chêne pour une fermentation lente, sur lies. Cette technique offre au vin une texture veloutée et des arômes gourmands, évoquant le miel ou la pâte d’amandes.

Durant toute la pĂ©riode de la vinification, nous dĂ©gustons et rĂ©alisons des analyses Ă  chaque Ă©tape afin de suivre au plus près l’Ă©volution du vin. Nos vins rouges ne sont pas filtrĂ©s et rarement collĂ©s afin de prĂ©server et vous transmettre toute la richesse aromatique si durement acquise.

Nos vins

De sa maturité aux vendanges, du vignoble à la cave, du décanteur au verre de dégustation, le vin est un univers complet et complexe.

 

Notre caveau de vente et dégustation est ouvert
du lundi au samedi de 10h Ă  13h et de 14h30 Ă  19h ainsi que le dimanche, sur rendez-vous.

Hommage

Rouge

Viognier

Blanc

Fleur de vigne

Rosé

Cuve 5

Rouge moelleux

Syrah-Merlot

Rouge

FR